June Empties 2016

June started with a hospitalisation, so I didn’t use up a whole lot of products. Understandably. Then things got underway, and I started churning out my regular quantity of rubbish. Let’s dig in.

13575625_10154422806495039_291507151_o

 

TonyMoly Baby Shine Foot – Because I am a disgusting human, I love these exfoliating foot masks. I like feeling like a snake and shedding the entirety of the skin on my feet. After hospital my feet were a mess, and it was time for another go at one of these. This is a cheaper option than the $30 Milky Foot you get at Chemist’s Warehouse, and more expensive than the Softsole one by 1000Hours that I used last time, but I don’t think it works quite as well. Repurchase? I’d probably try and track down the cheaper 1000Hours option.

Ecoya Coconut and Elderflower Soap – This is a nice, creamy soap that I got as a gift a while ago.  It smells beautiful and fancy and it isn’t over-drying. Purchase? No

The Body Shop Quiet Night Mist – This is the exact same thing as the Deep Sleep mist (why did they rename it? Don’t ask me) and it is, I must admit, a beautiful camomile/date herbal blend with a lavender feel that definitely throws out a soothing vibe. It’s discontinued internationally, but Australia is going to keep carrying it for a while, so if you like it, definitely pick it up. Repurchase? Probably not – I just spray whatever I’m feeling onto my sheets. At the moment, it’s a ginger/sandalwood blend.

The Body Shop Calming Aloe Cleanser – I talk about this cleanser about every second empties post because I keep using it up? It’s nice and simple and soothing and it doesn’t mess my skin up. They’ve just changed the packaging and I’m sussing out the formula. Repurchase? Yeah. Assuming the formula is similar and it still works the same, I’ll probably keep at it for a considerable amount of time.

The Body Shop Early Harvest Raspberry Shower Gel – This smelled exactly like raspberry jam and it was pretty lovely, but towards the end, I did start tiring of it. I’m just not a berry person as much as I am a cinnamon and sweet stuff person. Repurchase? If it comes back, I’m sure I will.

The Body Shop Glazed Apple Sugar Scrub – I love the smell of this, and I liked the texture at first, but after a while I got some water in it and it just turned sludgy (that’ll happen). It wasn’t rough enough for me, but god, that smell. Repurchase? I have the body butter in this scent somewhere tucked away. I’d buy something else in it, but probably not the scrub – as a personal preference, I like my scrubs rough.

The Body Shop Hemp Foot Protector – Until I find a better foot cream, I’ll keep using this. It does the job, and keeps my feet soft. It doesn’t smell sweet – it’s earthy and a little spicy – but it lasts a good while and my feet need it. Repurchase? Already have

Lush Volcano Foot Mask – Been hacking away at this for months. I love the smell – spicy and sweet – but it just doesn’t do anything for me. It’s also a pain in the ass to use, because you get the stuff everywhere. I liked it the first time, but after that…nothing. Repurchase? No. But it was my fifth black pot, so time for a face mask.

Rexona Deodorant – Why do I put deodorant into these? It’s a deodorant and it worked. Repurchase? Sure.

NYX Lipliner in Sienna – I love this colour – a rusty red – and the formula on this is nicer than the dark red I use sometimes from NYX. It’s pretty and affordable and not the creamiest lipliner, but it does its job. Repurchase? NYX stands are rarely stocked up at Target, but they’re apparently moving to Priceline in the next couple of months so I’ll happily pick this up then.

13575659_10154422806565039_786824866_o

Kleenex Anti Bacterial Wipes – I use these up every month to clean my hands and get makeup off of stuff.They do their job well and I buy them in bulk. Repurchase? Already have.

Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Wipes – I liked these quite a lot, the ones from my Lust Have It bag this month. I don’t love them more than my Simple wipes, though. They weren’t quite as effective at getting off my makeup. Purchase? No. Maybe? Probably not.

Simple Kind to Skin Cleansing Wipes – These get my makeup off really well and they don’t irritate my skin, so it’s a win-win situation for me. I’ve run out of stuff to say. Repurchase? Already have.

And some samples/deluxe sample sized things!

Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation Cream – This little cream was fine. It didn’t do anything special. It was light, but left me feeling a little greasier than I prefer. I bought the little trio of Ole Henriksen products, and at least I could use this one. The Truth Serum – the bestseller – I had to give away. Purchase? No

Ole Henriksen Invigorating Night Treatment – This was probably my favourite of the three products in the trio. I couldn’t use too much of it – it irritated me if I did – but when I used a tiny bit, I did feel that my skin looked lovely and glowy and smooth for the duration of the product use. I don’t think I liked it enough to buy it, but it was nice. Purchase? No

Clinique Even Better Makeup Foundation (Alabastor) – I might have found my next foundation, if I’m honest with you. I was not expecting to love this, and actually had no intention of trying it, but the girl at Mecca showed it to me and it just…worked. It’s not the full coverage I usually go for, but when my skin is semi-decent, this gives medium-buildable coverage and looks gorgeous. It just looks lovely. I don’t know. I might get another sample – I like to try twice before I commit. Purchase? Maybe

Origins Original Skin Rose Clay Mask – I liked this mask – it was gentle, but still did its job of being a mask. I felt refreshed afterwards, but I didn’t feel like it really did its job in terms of purifying or smoothing the skin. Like – my skin felt nice, but it just felt the same. You know? Purchase? No.

Soak Superfood Skin Booster Body Lotion – This was just a body lotion, and it was too lightweight and slippy and blah to really do much of anything. I wasn’t keen on it. Purchase? No

First Aid Beauty Daily Moisturiser (???) – Whatever this product is, they don’t make it anymore and it smells funny, so it’s going in the bin. I remember it being fine, I guess? I don’t know. Repurchase? Ha

Rituals Cosmetics Fortune Oil – This is a shower oil and it is actually gorgeous, although I am well and truly set for shower gels for life. This was fun for a week, though, and really luxurious while I was in hospital and my skin was disgusting and dry, and I liked the orange and cedar smell. Purchase? Most likely not.

Mac Prep and Prime – One of the primers that has been around since the beginning, but I was kind of disappointed by it. It didn’t make my makeup wear particularly well on skin, and it didn’t smooth it out much. It also had a really weird fine shimmer to it (?) so I would see the occasional speck of tiny glitter on my face, and I am not a fan of that. Purchase? No

Derma E Charcoal 2-in-1 Purifying Scrub – Got this in a Bellabox and yikes, it is WAY too intense for my skin. I used it mostly on my shoulder grossness, which I had a couple of this month in response to hospital messing my skin up, and on my forehead (the most resilient part of my face). Purchase? No

L’occitane Immortelle Divine Cream – I was already prepared to be doubtful about L’occitane facial care, because their bodycare is expensive enough, but this cream is apparently $145?!?!?! I am even more disappointed in my experience with it now – it made my face weirdly itchy. Maybe if it was more relevant to my skin concerns? I don’t know, man, $145 for a face cream that isn’t even really from a prestige brand seems a little bizarre to me, but you do you. Purchase? Hahahahahahaha.

Laneige Water Bank Serum – This was a fine serum, but I don’t think it did anything particularly special or felt particularly nice. Serums are hard to tell in sachet form. Purchase? No

Kate Somerville Goat Milk Cream – Why do I keep trying Kate Somerville products and hoping that they’ll work for me? This supposedly super gentle cream felt greasy and broke me out on my jawline. Grr. Curse you, Kate Somerville. Purchase? No

That’s that!

I was surprisingly brief, and I don’t know what’s got into me.

1 thought on “June Empties 2016”

Leave a Reply

