June Bellabox 2016 – an irritated unboxing/review

Is it possible? Is this Bellabox worse than that time the only thing  I was excited about was a tiny spray can of deodorant? Usually I try to keep you on your toes as to whether my thoughts on the box of the month are negative or positive, but as soon as I saw the first preview for this box, I knew this was going to be bad.

Like, this photo isn’t even in focus. I’m the worst and my maths will be every bit as bad as it was in my Marie Claire unboxing. Delete my blog.

13499551_10154392728640039_1095821962_o(1)
Can you not just predict exactly what I’m going to say?

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleansing Wipes (25 wipes for $7.50; full size) – I mean, they’re basic makeup removal wipes. I haven’t had good experiences with the brand. They’ll be fine for removing swatches, if necessary. That’s nearly as positive as this review is going to get.

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel (50g costs $24.99; this is a 5g tube so it’s worth about $2.50) – I was into this sample! That is, when I received it in my first ever Bellabox. I know I’m bound to get repeats across different boxes, but the exact same product in the same box? Come on, guys. If you’re curious as to my opinion, I ended up hating it – it felt sticky, and way too light, and like it didn’t actually give me any hydration. This will go into The Box.

Dermal Therapy Lip Balm (10g for $4.95; full size) – This is the item I’m the most pleased with, and it’s a standard petroleum based lip balm (my favourites tend to be lanolin based). It doesn’t feel too sticky, and it has a very lightly minty smell, so I’ll probably use it overnight.It doesn’t make me angry.

Colgate Optic White High Impact White Toothpaste (This is advertised as a bonus item not counting to value but the full size is 85g for $9.99 so this 21g tube adds about $2.50) – Double standards here, because I was happy with this when I got it in my Marie Claire Parcel. That’s because 1) I was in hospital and it was incredibly helpful and 2) the rest of the box was awesome. This tube has the problem of being the second I’ve received, so I know that I’m not a fan of the taste, and I don’t really have any use for it. Sad trombones.

Mizon Soothing Mask (single masks are $4.00) – It’s a sheet mask. I’m not really a sheet mask person. I’m also not a lavender person, which this contains, so I’m wary. But it’s usable, and I haven’t received it before.

Your Tea Skin Magic Tea (60 pack is $35; this is a 9 pack worth by my shitty calculations about $5.25) – This was the spoiler I saw that set the whole box as a failure for me. I’m adamantly against “slimming” teas and the promotion thereof to susceptible audiences  and detox teas are also definitely not my jam (WHAT TOXINS? THAT’S WHAT YOUR ORGANS ARE DOING), so at least they picked a “complexion” tea. I don’t have a problem with concepts of chinese medicine and the application thereof in teas, but I do have a problem with supporting companies who sell weightloss and “liver cleanse” teas and eugh. Especially not if they’re advertised as the big ticket item of the box. I’d accept it, maybe, as a “bonus” item – in place of the toothpaste, perhaps – but…come on. Nope.

Gelogic Gel Nail Polish in Champagne (18mL $9.95; full size) – Not only do I not wear nail polish, but I received the ugliest beige colour in the world.

And then there’s that bullshit “get $100 off when you spend $100 on a box of wine which is actually only worth $100 in the first place so there’s no discount”, which…stop it, Bellabox.

This is the closest I’ve come to unsubscribing. I’m extremely unimpressed with the tea. One of the items is a repeat from this box, and one I’ve got in another box. Two items I flat out won’t use (nail polish and tea), leaving me with…face wipes in a brand that has irritated my skin in the past, a sheet mask with an ingredient that tends to irritate me, and a lip balm I’ll use. Okay, it’s not quite as bad as that goddawful box from all those months ago, but it’s not good. The value is not atrocious, at about $36.65, but the perceived value is…not that.

0.5/5. I suppose.

Get it together, Bellabox. I think it’s autorolled over to next month, so I’d hope they pick themselves up.

1 thought on “June Bellabox 2016 – an irritated unboxing/review”

Leave a Reply

